2011 Recognition of Partners and Awardees

The following were recognized during the 2011 PA Fraud Conference and Awards Dinner.

IFPA Board Members and Board Counsel:

  • Mr. Chuck Wilker of Erie Insurance, Board Chairman
  • Mr. Ed Litchko of Independence Blue Cross, Board Treasurer
  • Mr. William Ryan, Pennsylvania's Acting Attorney General
  • Ms. Karen Higgins, Inspector in Charge of Philadelphia Division of U.S. Postal Inspection Services
  • Mr. Lee Affel of State Farm Insurance Companies
  • Mr. John Henry of Motorists Insurance Group
  • Mr. Richard Dibella of Dibella Geer McAllister & Best, IFPA Counsel
  • Mr. Scott Rhinehart, Board Secretary (not in attendance)

Conference co-Host:

  • Greater Pittsburgh and Delaware Valley Chapters of IASIU, and their Chapter Presidents Mr. John Henry and Mr. Tom Donahue of Unitrin Direct Insurance Company

From Pennsylvania's House of Representatives:

  • The Honorable Dom Costa, Democratic Representative of Allegheny County's 21st Legislative District
  • The Honorable Tony DeLuca, Democratic Representative of Allegheny County's 32nd Legislative District
  • The Honorable Robert Godshall, Republican Representative of Montgomery County's 53rd District
  • The Honorable Joe Hackett, Republican Representative of Delaware County's 161st Legislative District

Special Guests:

  • Mr. William Ryan, Pennsylvania's Acting Attorney General
  • Ms. Julia Hearthway, Pennsylvania's Acting Secretary of Labor & Industry
  • Mr. David Rioux, Vice President of Corporate Security for Erie Insurance and IASIU national President
  • Mr. Dennis Jay, Executive Director of the Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

SIU Groups:

  • Progressive Insurance SIU - Highest rate of referrals to law enforcement
  • Nationwide Insurance - Highest rate of referrals prosecuted

U.S. Postal Inspection Service:

  • Ms. Karen Higgins, Inspector in Charge
  • Mr. Tommy Coke, Assistant Inspector in Charge
  • Mr. Nick Alicia, Team Leader
  • Mr. Carol Balke, Inspector
  • Mr. Joseph Carcaci, Inspector
  • Mr. Tim Hogan, Inspector

Recognized for their outstanding display of communication and cooperation in combating insurance fraud are the 2011 PENNSYLVANIA FRAUD FIGHTER AWARDEES:

  • The Honorable Tony DeLuca
  • Ms. Julia K. Hearthway, former Chief Deputy Attorney General, Insurance Fraud Section, PA Office of Attorney General
  • Ms. Nancy Rosen, Staff Claim Adjuster, Allstate Insurance Company & Administrator, Delaware Valley Chapter, International Association of Investigation Units (IASIU)
  • Ms. Jodi Insana, Supervisory Special Agent, National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB)
  • Mr. David J. Rioux, CIFI, Vice President, Corporate Security, Erie Insurance Group
  • Mr. Ron Sost, SIU Administrator, New Jersey Manufacturers (NJM) Insurance Group
  • Mr. Michael T. Angelo, Material Damage Adjuster II, Philadelphia District Attorney's Office
  • Detective Donald Murtha, Insurance Fraud Unit, Philadelphia District Attorney's Office
  • Ms. Kelly Cover, Senior Special Investigator, Nationwide Insurance
  • Mr. Timothy Hogan, Postal Inspector, Philadelphia Division, U.S. Postal Inspection Service
  • Mr. Frank McCole, Senior Special Investigator, Nationwide Insurance
  • Detective Edward J. Kazlo, Delaware County District Attorney's CID

Additional Acknowledgment Was Given To:

  • Mr. Dominic Dugo, Assistant District Attorney of California's San Diego County
  • Mr. Roy Mura of the law firm Mura and Storm, New York
  • Mr. James Rutolo of SAS, Connecticut
  • The PA Insurance Fraud Prevention Authority's Office Administrator, Ms. Joan Dockery and Administrative Assistant, Ms. Deb Chamberlin
  • Mr. James Seibert of Donegal Insurance - proctor of this year's CIFI examination
  • The Partnership of Packer, Oesterling & Smith, Inc. (PPO&S) of Harrisburg